What’s Up?

To say things have been busy for me is, well, and understatement. Between work, fostering, and my side projects, it’s been downright chaotic. But to be honest, I’m not complaining. I like to stay busy. I like to stuff as much as I can on my plate. I’m not one to take on more than I can handle, so while things may be hectic, they are still quite manageable.

It’s been a while since I have had time to post any foster updates. I find that using Facebook to promote a current foster or share an update on a previous one is incredibly fast and easy. That’s not to say I am abandoning this blog for FB. My goal for this year was actually to blog more often. I’d really like to get into a nice rhythm of posting weekly. There are so many times that I find myself experiencing foster related ‘moments’ that I’d like to share, but I just simply don’t have the time (or discipline) to sit down and write. Hopefully that changes soon. In fact, I’ll start today by giving a quick breakdown on some recent happenings.

Pillow LoungeThe Burkester About 3 weeks ago, shortly after I got back from vacation, I was asked if I could foster a lil dude who was going in for knee surgery for luxating patella  He would need strict crate rest during his recovery time and only be allowed outside a couple times a day for potty purposes only. I had actually met this spunky guy, who goes by the name of Burke, when I picked Peach up to foster and knew I could give him the care he needed, so of course I said yes!

Burke came home with me a day after his surgery looking quite pathetic with big blue bandage on his leg and a matching e-collar. He seemed happy to accompany me home and was perfectly behaved when we arrived. I gave him some good lovin’ (he adores ear rubs) and got him all set up in his crate. Over the next few days Burke learnedProud Man to maneuver around in his bandage when I took him out to do his business. It was a bit awkward for him at first, but he was a pro in no time. Other than his shorty potty breaks, he was only allowed to be in his crate, sitting by my side leashed so he couldn’t roam free, or nestled in my lap…can you guess which one was his favorite?

I took Burke in to VSEC for his follow up about a week ago. His knee looked great and he was able to have his bandage removed. His recovery still called for crate rest and limited potty/walk time. Once we got home and he realized he no longer had a big clunky thing on his leg, he seemed to be in better spirits.

20130326-102611.jpg   20130326-102450.jpg

Burke is a sweet and intelligent little guy who loves to be by my side no matter what I’m doing. While he still isn’t allowed total freedom  of the house just yet, he is permitted some quiet, one floor supervised roam time (no stairs, jumping, playing etc. till he’s fully healed). He’s pretty curious and likes to inspect every corner, especially around the kitchen where I’m assuming he’s hoping to find some lost pieces of food. He gets along great with the other dogs and I imagine that once he’s fully healed he’ll be bouncing around with his buddies.

Burke will be going back to VSEC in a couple weeks to get his next check up and the vet will decide if he needs surgery on his other knee. It’s pretty strange to think about him starting all over again in his recovery, but if he needs it then it is totally worth it and I’m willing to help him every step of the way!

The Burkester already has a potential adopter and will be ready for his new home once he is all healed and feeling fine!

SickiesSickies I started writing this post over a week ago, then got swamped with work and after that…all hell broke loose. Burke got sick with some sort of stomach thing, my newest foster (Tyco) came down with kennel cough, and I got some sort of virus/flu thing. I was able to get both dogs to the vet and on meds just days before I got severely sick. The last couple days have been ridiculous. Trying to take care of 7 dogs when you feel like you are dying, with two of them still somewhat sick, is no fun at all. I will say that I am incredibly lucky to have Fran. She took care of them the day I couldn’t move out of bed and I am so thankful for that. I have no idea what I would have done without her. I’m finally feeling a lil bit better today and will work on getting this and a couple other posts up

Updates I love getting updates from folks about former fosters! Over the past few months I have received a bunch of stories, videos  and photos of happy dogs in their homes. I haven’t gotten the chance to officially post about all of them, but have put some up on Facebook and encourage others who’d like to share to post directly on my page. Below are a couple photos of some former fosters enjoying their awesome lives!

Sasha

..

Sophia (fka Sophie)

Bent and Soph

..

Rudy

image002   image001

..

Ebony

Buddies   Santa

Leave a Reply

